• LPEA Annual Meeting to be held May 13 at Sky Ute Casino & Resort

    Keynote speaker Jeff Wilbanks and results of Director elections to highlight 2017 event

    "Honoring our Heritage, Embracing our Future" is the theme for the La Plata Electric Association Annual Meeting, Saturday, May 13, 2017 at the Sky Ute Casino and Resort Event Center, Ignacio. Results of Director elections will be announced, and industry professional Jeff Wilbanks is set to serve as keynote speaker.
    Registration begins at 9 a.m., with the business meeting commencing at 10:30 a.m. A complimentary luncheon follows the business meeting. The Annual Meeting is free and open to all LPEA members.

    "This is the one time during the year that our membership can join together, see friends and neighbors and learn more about your rural electric cooperative that is truly part of everything you do," says CEO Mike Dreyspring. "We're also honored to have Jeff Wilbanks as our keynote speaker. He's an inventor, historian and educator – and he manages the Tacoma Generation power plant up on the Animas River. The history of electricity in this region is rich, and Jeff will help us appreciate it even more."

    In addition to Wilbanks, presentations during the LPEA Annual Meeting will include reports from CEO Dreyspring, Board President Davin Montoya, Treasurer Karen Barger, Attorney Shay Denning, and CREA Representative Kohler McInnis. An update on happenings at Tri-State Generation and Transmission will be presented by Joel Bladow. The membership will have an opportunity to query the board on topics of concern during the Q&A period.

    Also, looking to the future, the Four Corners Office for Resource Efficiency will offer test drives of a 2017 Nissan Leaf as part of the non-profit organization's electric vehicle group-buy program.

    Election results in three districts are expected to be announced prior to the complimentary lunch. In accordance with LPEA's bylaws, annually one seat in each of LPEA's four districts comes up for election. This year in District 1 (Archuleta County), incumbent Bob Lynch was the only nominee, thus the election in that district is cancelled and Lynch will retain his seat.

    District 2 (south and west La Plata County) candidates are Kim Martin and incumbent Davin Montoya. District 3 (city of Durango) candidates are R. Michael Bell and Rachel Landis. District 4 (north and east La Plata County) candidates are Guinn Unger and incumbent Joe Wheeling.

    Ballots were mailed to cooperative members on April 13 and must be received by 4 p.m., Friday, May 12, 2017 at the La Plata County Clerk's office (Bodo Park), at LPEA's offices in Durango or Pagosa Springs, the La Plata County Administration office (Downtown Durango), Farmer's Fresh Market (Ignacio), or Bayfield Town Hall. Members can also vote at the Annual Meeting prior to 10:30 a.m.

    LPEA members who register at the Annual Meeting will receive a $5 credit on their electric bill plus are eligible for a wide array of door prizes and giveaways. Volunteer parking attendants will direct members to the most convenient parking at Sky Ute Casino and Resort, and golf carts will be available to assist those who have difficulty walking.

    LPEA, a Touchstone Energy Cooperative established in 1939, provides to its more than 30,000 members, with in excess of 42,000 meters, safe, reliable electricity at the lowest reasonable cost, while being environmentally responsible.
    For additional information, contact LPEA at 970.247.5786 or visit www.lpea.coop.